Things Women Talk About – Getting Old

Grandmothers Bernadette, Margareth & Aggie Pilgrim
Image via Wikipedia

 I totally agree with you and when we are dealing with our older loved ones we that must be respectful and take time to understand… if we continue to live we will also be in the same or similar situation.  I think as long as we keep that foremost in our minds we will be more generous in our responsibilities of our elders. Iris

 I went through this with my grandmother who died at 88 and I still miss our fussing and laughing together.  My mother died at 34 and I was 16, so I did not get to see her age. There is so much I’ve missed. Amy

My Godmother is 81 and very feisty but her body is turning on her and she is having a difficult time. But she knows she will have our help and support when and if she needs it.  Paula

 Aging can be an ugly process.  My grandmother is 86 and has always been very independent.  Suddenly she finds herself weak, unable to drive, less able to walk, vision impaired, and an attitude that slices into all of us that care.  She was always a razor-tongued hot wire but, her feelings of inadequacy and her desire not to give up compound all the “negative” aspects of her personality. Merill

 ♣

I love my grandmother immensely.  The sacrifices she has made for my well-being over the last 41 years are nothing short of heroic.  Her love has always been unconditional, unlike my mother’s.  However, there are times when I cry for her.  The ravages of time, of a hard life, of losing my grandfather 14 years ago after 54 years of marriage, have taken their toll. Dane

 ♣

Try to remember that our times are coming.  Our daughters/sons will bear our burdens and will bitch.  They will be frustrated as we cling to our ways, right or wrong.  After all, we are strong women!  The very strength that works with you in youth works against you in old age.  Patsy

We all pray….

Leave a Reply

